Colin Athletics


Calendar  of Events

Thu Sep 28 @06:30PM -
Football @ East Central
Thu Oct 05 @07:00PM -
Football vs Hinds
Thu Oct 12 @07:00PM -
Football vs Holmes
Thu Oct 19 @07:00PM -
Football @ Southwest
Sat Oct 28 @03:00PM -
Football vs Pearl River (Homecoming)
You are here: Home Sports Tennis (W) 14 Co-Lin student-athletes receive NJCAA Academic Awards

14 Co-Lin student-athletes receive NJCAA Academic Awards


June 19, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) has announced that 14 Copiah-Lincoln Community College student athletes have been recognized for academic. The NJCAA Academic Student-Athlete Awards include the Pinnacle Award for Academic Excellence (4.00 GPA on a 4.00 scale), Superior Academic Achievement (3.80 to 3.99 on a 4.00 scale), and Exemplary Academic Achievement (3.60 to 3.79 on a 4.00 scale).

Student-athletes must have completed three full-time semesters and a minimum of 45 semester credit hours or four full-time quarters and a minimum of 60 quarter credit hours of college work and participated in at least one season at the varsity level.

“This is a tremendous accomplishment by our student-athletes,” said Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles. “Our teams and our student-athletes are recognized year after year for their efforts in the classroom. It is a tribute to them and to our coaches. We take tremendous pride in our student’s academic and athletic success.”

Receiving the NJCAA’s Pinnacle Award for Academic Excellence are Will Ashley of Magee (football), Bobbie Cochran of Collins (softball), and Christy Wright of Crystal Springs (soccer).

Recipients of the NJCAA’s Award for Superior Academic Achievement recipients are Macie Case of Wesson (tennis), Brooke Delaughter of Brookhaven (softball), Mario Huljev of Zadar, Croatia (tennis), Marko Knezevic of Zadar, Croatia (tennis), Carrie Moak of Wesson (softball), Ansley Schimmel of Wesson (tennis), and Emily Zumbro of Bude (soccer).

Receiving the NJCAA’s Award for Exemplary Academic Achievement are Will Gatlin of Bogue Chitto (baseball), Stephen Joe of Madison (baseball), Katherine Scarbrough of Meadville (tennis), and Keaton Stamps of Carson (golf).

Since 2000, Co-Lin has produced 103 NJCAA Academic Student-Athlete Award winners.

The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) has been the governing body of two-year college athletics, offering athletic and academic opportunities to college students since 1938. Now entering its 75th anniversary, the NJCAA is the second largest national intercollegiate athletic organization in the United States with over 500 member schools in 43 states. Each year over 60,000 student-athletes compete in one of 28 different sports and the organization sponsors 48 national championship events and nine football bowl games. NJCAA Headquarters has been located in Colorado Springs, Colo., since 1985. For more information visit