Colin Athletics


Calendar  of Events

Thu Sep 28 @06:30PM -
Football @ East Central
Thu Oct 05 @07:00PM -
Football vs Hinds
Thu Oct 12 @07:00PM -
Football vs Holmes
Thu Oct 19 @07:00PM -
Football @ Southwest
Sat Oct 28 @03:00PM -
Football vs Pearl River (Homecoming)
You are here: Home Sports Softball 29 student-athletes earn MACJC All-State Academic honors

29 student-athletes earn MACJC All-State Academic honors


July 9, 2012

WESSON – Copiah-Lincoln Community College Athletic Director Gwyn Young announced 29 student-athletes have received Mississippi Association of Junior and Community Colleges (MACJC) All-State Academic honors for their work in the classroom.

“We take tremendous pride in our student’s academic and athletic success,” said Young. “Our teams and our student-athletes are recognized year after year for their efforts in the classroom. It is a tribute to them and to our coaches.”

Ten student-athletes received MACJC All-State Distinguished academic honors. Those 10 include Will Ashley of Magee (football), Macie Case and Ansley Schimmel, both of Wesson (tennis), Bobbie Cochran of Collins, Brooke Delaughter of Brookhaven, and Carrie Moak of Wesson (softball), Mario Huljev and Marko Knezevic, both of Zadar, Croatia (tennis); Christy Wright of Crystal Springs and Emily Zumbro of Bude (soccer).

Ashley, Cochran and Wright also received the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Pinnacle Award of Excellence in June for finishing with 4.0 grade point averages.

Earning All-State Academic honors are Tammy Alford of Lafite, La., Leah Britt, Ashley McCaffery, Emily Smith, and Stevie Ann Wright, all of Brookhaven (softball), Will Gatlin of Bogue Chitto, Stephen Joe of Madison, and Noel Santos of New York, NY, (baseball); Kristen Hall of Brookhaven and Katherine Scarbrough of Meadville (tennis); Matthew Hart of Brookhaven (soccer, tennis), Brian Isaac of Natchez and Chandler Rogers of Brookhaven (football); Martha Silva of Theodore, AL, Allison Spears of Magnolia, Brooks Turner of Natchez, and Ariale Walters of Hattiesburg (soccer); Keaton Stamps of Carson (golf) and Alexus Stirgus of Vicksburg (basketball).

Case, Delaughter, Huljev, Knezevic, Moak, Schimmel and Zumbro also received the NJCAA’s Award for Superior Academic Achievement (3.80 to 3.99 on a 4.00 scale).

Gatlin, Joe, Scarbrough and Stamps also received the NJCAA’s Award for Exemplary Academic Achievement (3.60 to 3.79 on a 4.00 scale).

Only student-athletes that completed three semesters were eligible for the MACJC All-Academic honors.