Colin Athletics


Calendar  of Events

Thu Sep 28 @06:30PM -
Football @ East Central
Thu Oct 05 @07:00PM -
Football vs Hinds
Thu Oct 12 @07:00PM -
Football vs Holmes
Thu Oct 19 @07:00PM -
Football @ Southwest
Sat Oct 28 @03:00PM -
Football vs Pearl River (Homecoming)
You are here: Home Sports Soccer (W) Co-Lin lands 49 Academic All-State selections

Co-Lin lands 49 Academic All-State selections


June 6, 2017

WESSON – Copiah-Lincoln Community College athletes continued a tradition of excellence in the classroom in 2017 as 49 student-athletes across all 10 sports earned Academic All-State or Distinguished Academic All-State recognition.

“We are very excited to have such a large number of student-athletes getting recognized,” said Copiah-Lincoln President Dr. Ronnie Nettles. “Accolades such as this are an example of how we excel in both athletics and academics…I am very proud of both our players and our coaches.”

Students with overall GPA’s of 3.8 or higher received Distinguished Academic All-State honors. These include Kelsi Barron, a freshman soccer player from Magnolia, Miss., Cayman Blount, a freshman soccer player from Independence, Miss., Joseph Dendy, a sophomore golfer from Brandon, Miss., Cole Arseneault, a sophomore golfer from Baton Rouge, La., Darrian Wilson, a freshman basketball player from Brookhaven, Miss., Zach James, a freshman baseball player from Madison, Miss., Madison Franklin a freshman tennis player from Brookhaven, Miss., Julie Kramer, a sophomore tennis player from Brookhaven, Miss., Hayes Thompson, a sophomore tennis player from Summit, Miss., Juan Pablo Pinilla, a freshman tennis player from Bogota, Colombia, Tripp Case, a freshman tennis player from Madison, Miss., Graham Eklund, a football player from Jackson, Miss., and Griffin Sublett a football player from Pascagoula, Miss.

Academic All-State was awarded to students with a GPA between 3.25 and 3.79. Eight softball players earned recognition including Alex Anthony, a freshman from Kokomo, Miss., Kayla Britt, a sophomore from Wesson, Miss., Logan Deroche, a freshman from Houma, La., Dianna Hobgood, a sophomore from Columbia, Miss., Allison Livingston, a freshman from Brookhaven, Miss., Jamie Martin, a sophomore from Silver Creek, Miss., Alexsundria Thomas, a freshman from Byram, Miss., and Kamryn Vanlandingham, a sophomore from Hazlehurst, Miss.

Co-Lin’s women’s soccer program landed nine on the list including Ray Ann Montano, a freshman from Fazabad, Trinidad and Tobago, McKenzie Turpin, a freshman from Slidell, La., Tristan Smith, a sophomore from Meadville, Miss., Taylor Pierce, a freshman from Richland, Miss., Konika Page, a freshman from Laurel, Miss., Raven London, a sophomore from Vicksburg, Miss., Raven Jones, a sophomore from Laurel, Miss., Camaryn Ellis, a freshman from Ellisville, Miss., and Laura Blailock, from Summit, Miss. Dalton Holliday, a sophomore soccer player from Pascagoula, Miss. and Samual Harvey, a freshman soccer player from Ocean Springs, Miss. also made the list.

Three members of the Co-Lin golf team received honors including Matthew Scoville, a freshman from Madison, Miss., Jason Byrd, a sophomore from Wesson, Miss., and Brandon Blakney, a sophomore from Flowood, Miss.

Kody Smith, a sophomore from Monticello, Miss., Ryan Cullop, a sophomore from Hattiesburg, Miss., Hayden White, a freshman from Madison, Miss., Tyler Vroman, a freshman from Vicksburg, Miss., Gabe Smith, a freshman from Natchez, Miss., and Blake Estabrook, a freshman from Terry, Miss. rounded out Co-Lin’s baseball recipients.

Lady Wolf basketball recipients include Alexus Holt, a freshman from Epps, La. and Karry Callahan, a freshman from Vicksburg, Miss.

Co-Lin’s tennis program had six players earn recognition including Maddie Ogden, a sophomore from Brookhaven, Miss., Logan Prather, a freshman from Magee, Miss., Laura Vargas, Ximena Daza, and Sebastian Osorio, all freshmen from Bogota, Colombia, and Sebastian Harrell, a freshman from Meadville, Miss.