Colin Athletics

You are here: Home Athletic Alumni Association

Athletic Alumni Association

The Athletic Alumni Association is made up of all former Copiah-Lincoln Community College athletes. The association’s purpose is to unite former athletes, to promote the College and its athletic programs, and to recognize outstanding athletic alumni.

Co-Lin Sports Hall of Fame


October 16, 2011

WESSON - The Copiah-Lincoln Community College Athletic Alumni Association inducted four new members into the Sports Hall of Fame during Homecoming festivities Saturday, Oct 15. Those to be honored are Gene “Moochie” Britt (’70) of Brookhaven, Jack Case (’60) of Bogue Chitto, Tangela Jones Hawthorne (’91) of Eastabuchie and John R. Ward (’48) of Holly Springs. The four were inducted during the annual meeting of the athletic alumni association and later recognized during an alumni luncheon at noon in the Henley Cafeteria and also during halftime of the ballgame.

Sports Hall of Fame Nomination Form

Co-Lin Sports Hall of Fame

MACJC Sports Hall of Fame


Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles (left) presents 2012 Mississippi Association of Community and Junior College's Sports Hall of Fame inductee Gwyn Young with his comemorative medallion and statute.

Young has been head coach of the Lady Wolves basketball team for 35 years. Since coming to Co-Lin, he has seen his team win title after title and is ranked as the National Junior College Athletic Association's (NJCAA) Winningest Active Coach in the nation and the Winningest Women’s Coach in the MACJC. His coaching record to date is 797-232. He also serves as the college's athletic director.

A graduate of Copiah-Lincoln where he was a standout for the Wolves basketball team, Young was inducted into the college’s Athletic Hall of Fame in 1997. After graduation from Co-Lin, he attended Mississippi College where he was team MVP and a team captain.

MACJC Sports Hall of Fame

2007 - Carl Medley, Henry L. "Hook" Stone*, M. K. Turk
2008 - Alton Ricks, "Chunkin" Charlie Ward*
2009 - Alton Greenlee
2010 - A. J. Mangum
2011 - Bob Ricketts*
2012 - Gwyn H. Young

* Deceased